DOMESTIC BECOMES ME

image by Royalty-Free/Corbis

If you’ve read the “About The Diva” page then you’ll know that before I took on being domestic, I was once a full-time corporate slave in the marketing rat race.  A job that requires frequent travels, late nights, crazy deadlines, stressful presentations, and regular visits to the salon.  No. I just made the salon thing up, that was self-imposed🙂 My point is, I was a weekend mom– a term better than “absentee mom”, don’t you think?

Anyway, my son practically grew up with the nanny. We were so lucky to have one who was with us before the Little Boy came until the time when we had to move overseas.  She was ever dependable and I totally trust her with the boy so I felt no jealousy when he uttered Ate” before learning the word “mommy”…. none at all… Okay, I wanted to scratch her face when I first heard that but hey, she was taking good care of my boy while I was gone so I should be cool with that.  When weekends would come and it would be my turn to look after him, Little Boy would give me a puzzled look.  He was too young to talk so I could just see his thought balloon saying “Who is this woman???” to which I would reply, “Anak, ako ang tunay mong ina.” (Son, I’m your real mother).  That would be his cue to cry.  When the nanny would come home from her day-off, he would run towards her and exclaim “I miss you, Ate!”.  Again, no jealousy there even when he would only give me a wave when I would get home from a week-long trip.  And when he finally learned to talk, he even coined a nickname for his nanny: Ate Cute, while he calls me The Stepmother. Darn those fairytales!

Little Boy and Ate Cute enjoying Baguio City while I was attending an official event in Burnham Park.

Then Dear Hubby got an opportunity to get cross-posted overseas, a career break that was hard to resist.  I knew that a regional assignment was his biggest dream… second to having me as his wife, of course! “Living separately was never an option”, he said.  Making sure that family relocation was part of the package, he was bent on taking our little family with him.  Isn’t he the sweetest?  It took countless discussions (some of them intense) to finally got me packing.  You see, it wasn’t easy letting go of a corporate post handling breakthrough projects in the Philippines’ biggest manufacturing firm. But I was willing to give up career for love – showbiz??!!🙂

I gotta give props to Dear Hubby because he got everything laid out when he made the relocation “pitch” to me– complete with a visual presentation!  And by presentation I didn’t mean a lap dance but snapshots of potential residences and their facilities, etc.  He had all my concerns covered i.e. double income in Manila vs. single income in Jakarta, education, safety and security, medical benefits etc.  And to make things convenient for me, he got me a brand new MacBook Pro so I could reconnect with family and friends back home. I told him it was too much and that I’d be happy with a Sony Vaio.  He just replied “You’ll love that, it’s idiot-friendly.”  Okay, I’m sure he didn’t mean anything by that, he just wanted everything to be easy for me.  Sweet ‘no?… He also got me an iPod to keep me company while alone at the gym, a BlackBerry for easy communication even while I’m mobile, and a large, hot pink, hard-luggage (this one nailed it!).  He is just sooo sweet! One more suck-up comment like this and he just might get me the latest iPhone or iPad this time… oh, but an iron curler will do🙂

Well, here we are in Jakarta, Indonesia which the three of us call home (for now) building our new family life together.  We could be in another city in another country in a few years but still together and making some more memories.

How about you?  Any wonderful beginnings or breakthroughs in your life recently?

And the journey begins...

Day 1 in Jakarta, making a fresh start...

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joilicious
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 06:29:13

    i love love love this!🙂

    Reply

  2. AnnaVi
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 10:46:20

    congratulations on finally getting on with a blog!
    fill it with your one-liners and smart-aleck lines and it will surely be a hit!
    mwoah!

    Reply

  3. Cookie V.
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:27:08

    Congratulations on your newest hobby! Keep on blogging sistah!

    Reply

  4. Net Isip
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 19:10:07

    Hi Amory, nice blog. Why not write for a fee hehehe.You’re really good at it. I wish I could write my adventures here in Qatar. ..keep ’em coming!🙂 hhoooraaayy!

    Reply

    • Amory
      Nov 12, 2011 @ 19:16:35

      Thanks for visiting the site Net!!!
      Of course you can write about your Qatar experience! Being a stranger in a country is quite an adventure, motherhood is another experience altogether. Lots of blog topics for us there🙂 Come on, just do it! Hope to see you here more often. Kisses for your mini-me🙂

      Reply

  5. Trackback: HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE BOY! « The Domestic Diva Diaries
  6. Clarissa
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 14:52:44

    This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read article!

    Reply

  7. vitamin C Supplement
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 07:32:23

    Highly descriptive post, I loved that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    Reply

  8. drinking water deionization
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 20:00:19

    I have read so many content regarding the blogger lovers however this article is really a nice paragraph, keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

