MY FIVE-MINUTE FAME

International photographer Romeo Gacad taking a crowd shot as I waved our flag in victory.

As promised in my “Manny Mania” article, here is a post about my so-called international “stardom” as an aftermath of the Pacquiao-Marquez bout.

No one believed it but I knew I was destined to be a star🙂 As a little girl, I daydreamed about being in the Little Miss Philippines contest. It never happened.  As a teenager, I fantasized about being a cheerleader and be the one on top of a human pyramid.  Never happened.  I even imagined myself being in those nice TV commercials where pretty girls in flowing dresses blow bubbles and run in the field.  I guess you know by now that it never happened too.  But at least I got to be in advertising and work behind the scenes. Puwede na.

Then it finally came.  Hah!  It pays to never stop believing that I’d someday be famous.  Well, almost.  Here’s how…

As you all know, the result of a Manny Pacquiao fight is always big news in the Philippines and in any part of the world where boxing is popular.  And thanks to international photographer, Mr. Romeo Gacad, my face somehow made its way to the Monday news both online and on print!  A friend in the U.S. sent us a link to GETTY IMAGES – Agence France Presse where she found the news bit (and our photo).  Then our friends back in Manila had been excitedly telling us that they saw us in the major broadsheet, The Philippine Star.  Likewise, the same news item was in Yahoo Sports News.  International exposure, baby!

My friend gave another thought that’s worth daydreaming about:  Imagine searching on Google and type “cheer”, “nationalistic” and “PRETTY FILIPINA”. Bam!  You see me. Okay, I know that’s far-fetched but I always dream big haha!  My face in the photo will remain nameless so the world will never know me.  There goes my stardom.  At the very least, my family and friends recognized me so they kept the newspaper clipping… under my instructions hehe.  I want to thank Manny Pacquiao and Romeo Gacad for giving me my five-minute fame🙂

http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/132664939/AFP

Here’s an excerpt of Mr. Gacad’s impressive profile (WikiPilipinas).  You can tell he’s really got an eye for great subjects🙂

“Romeo M. Gacad is a Filipino veteran photojournalist and a three-time Pulitzer Prize nominee whose works have appeared on the cover of various international publications including Time and Newsweek magazines. He is the chief photographer for the Manila bureau of Agence France-Presse (AFP), the world’s oldest established news agency…

His photographs of the 1988 Olympics, the 2001 Afghanistan war, and the 2003 Iraq war earned him three Pulitzer nominations for journalistic photography.”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mitz Angeles
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 16:20:34

    Ayan na nga ba ang sinasabi….sikat ka na! Hehe…ganda pa ng kuha. Moment!

    Reply

    • Amory Sotto-Busalla
      Nov 16, 2011 @ 17:17:47

      Naku Mitz, partida burado pa ang lipstick ko jan! If I was wearing one I would’ve landed the front page hahaha! See ya soon!

      Reply

  2. dahleah
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 23:13:24

    Siguro with this shot magiging awardee na sya🙂 Keep on dreaming big. Malay mo through your Diva Diaries ma-reach mo yung stardom. We believe in you

    Reply

  3. cathy
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 12:01:12

    Sana man lang na chika mo na ng bongang bonga si Romeo Gacad ng naisingit na pangalan mo… Congrats! tama ka, at least, nasa archives ka na!

    Reply

  4. Amory Sotto-Busalla
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 10:27:19

    Hi Cathy! Medyo na-upgrade na ako… di na lang ako sa gamefowl magazines lumalabas ngayon hahaha!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

