OF POOP AND PUKE

image courtesy of parenting.com

WARNING: As the title suggests, this post might have contents that may challenge your senses.🙂

I’ve been remiss in my blog updates because, as some of you may have heard, Little Boy caught Rotavirus which caused his Stomach Flu or Gastroenteritis .  It started happening one morning when he woke up (unusually early, that is) and announced he had pooped on his pajamas.  Thinking it was just an “accident”, I cleaned up the mess, gave him a shower and prepped him for school.  And as we were about to leave for school, the “accident” happened again, this time he started throwing up too.  This is not good, we have to see his doctor. Thank goodness for leftover disposable diapers from 2 years ago  and stocked discomfort bags in the car (sometimes it pays to be a pack rat :)), we survived that 30-minute ride from our apartment to the clinic.

Anyone who has heard of Stomach Flu or Gastroenteritis would know that this is a major poop and puke alert.  And poor Little Boy, who threw up even the anti-vomiting medicines, had to be admitted to the hospital and dextrosed – food and meds had to be administered through I.V.  to avoid dehydration.  It’s heartbreaking for any mother to see her child throw up on that basin like he was possessed, or groan in anguish on his 7th diarrhea episode just for the afternoon, or cry in pain from all the shots.  I could only give my tender lovin’ care (TLC) and channel my inner Mother Teresa and Florence Nightingale on the times  when I would have him lean on my chest, touch his forehead and murmur soft comforts. Don’t worry baby, you’re going to be well soon.  And when I would have to wipe the edge of the toilet when he wouldn’t make it and assure him that I wasn’t mad for the mess.  It’s alright hunny, it’s not your fault.  And when I had to keep an encouraging front as his weight dropped a pound each day and he became skinnier and skinnier. Oh your appetite will come back and you’ll be healthy again.   Aaaand most of all, when I had to open that soiled diaper to collect (watery) stool sample for lab test– this last one, my dear friends,  could be the ultimate test of a mother’s love for her child. Of course this is an exaggeration but the clearer message is: Oh you kids out there, love your mothers!

The good news is that, while uncomfortable (and let’s face it, gross) in most kids, a stomach bug is not a serious illness and will resolve on its own after re-hydration efforts and TLC.  Re-hydration: check.  TLC: double check.  He’s now back to school and back to his regular activities, that means I’m back on the grind too🙂.   I join every parent’s prayer on trying moments like this: Please let me have my child’s illness so he won’t have to suffer.  And to even add to that: … and the weight loss too.  Oh let me have it. Please, God!🙂

Catch you again soon… Stay healthy and safe, everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rennette
    May 01, 2012 @ 09:08:59

    Hi Amory! Been reading your blog consistently since day 1. Kung may silent rusher ang RX, silent reader naman ako ng blog mo. I’m glad Andres is fine now. ‘Will catch up with ya soon!🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Thanks for Taking Care of my Poop Day! « My Cracked Pot

Leave a Reply

