THE LONG AND SHORT OF IT

The Jakarta women’s hairdo has influenced me to daydream about curls.  Big wavy curls.  Most women here have either the Imelda Marcos up do (yes, the one that destroys the ozone layer due to excessive use of hair spray) or the long and wavy I-look-fabulous hairstyle.  I was partial to the latter so I had it all planned out:

Step 1.  No haircuts, grow them longYou know that Filipino myth that if you want your hair to grow fast, you have to brush it 100 times in a day? I did that!

Step 2.  Window shop and save up for the perfect ceramic hair iron/curler.  Yes, this is a big project that requires an “investment” hence, the cost analysis.

Step 3.  Practice on Velcro rolling curlers.  Basically a test run before the real deal.  Little Boy gets totally weirded out and thinks his mom wears big batteries on her head.

This trial stage yielded good results I couldn’t wait to grow my hair much longer and rock those curls.  I could already see myself looking like this…

Okay, let me re-phrase that: I could already see MY HAIR looking like this.

Step 4.  Layer it.  For that desired  fabulous wavy finish, I figured  I should adjust my hair from one-length to layered. 

Now this is where my dreams started crumbling down.

I came to this salon armed with a photo reference just in case they wouldn’t understand my Bahasa Indonesia, pointed at my shoulders to show up to where they should TRIM.  The hairdresser even took out a magazine and showed another reference, “Yes, just like that” I said.

Then he snipped a portion of my hair up to my chin! Oh, that might be the shortest of the layer. The rest would be up to the shoulders.  Then he cut everything, the length was just below my ears!  I just wanted a trim.  A TRIM! At this point I knew it would be useless to argue with him.  He didn’t understand me when I had a simple message, he still wouldn’t  understand me now that there are  more things I wanted to say.  Besides, what’s done is done.  I just formulated a back-up plan as I waited for him to finish  blow drying:  Go to another salon and have this fixed!!! That’s it, there’s still hope. Meantime, I had to pick up Little Boy from school donning my Amelie look.

I love Audrey Tautou but this hairstyle just doesn’t work for me.

Okay, the hair is much shorter now and the only possible solution is the pixie cut.  Can you believe that?! Oh well, at least it’s still stylish and now easier to manage.  Saves me some shampoo and conditioner too.  It surprised some people (believe me, even I was in denial) but I’ve gotten a few compliments for it so I’m beginning to dig it.  My curly-wavy dreams are temporarily put on hold until I grow my hair back again.

How about you, do you like your hair long or short?

Goodbye, curly-wavy dreams! Maybe next time…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kanyalia Francisca
    May 09, 2012 @ 08:17:37

    I really love it!!!! Seriously…!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

