EASY & HEALTHY RECIPE: PAN-SEARED TUNA

It’s no secret that aside from long legs, great kitchen skills are the gifts that I am not really blessed with.  Case in point: I can’t make a decent pancake and once burned Ginisang Munggo (sauteed mung beans).  That’s why I used to leave the cooking to the able hands of a helper or Dear Hubby (when he’s free).  But we haven’t had a help for a while now so I gotta “face my fear” and channel my inner Giada De Laurentiis and Nigella Lawson.  Yes, I sort of invoke their spirits to come upon my kitchen each time I had to cook🙂.

My objective is to make very simple and easy-to-do recipes to avoid any more kitchen disasters.  Recipes should also be healthy to complement my Balik-Alindog project, a self-imposed program to a healthier lifestyle (click here for more information).  This is my version of Pan-Seared Tuna.

WHAT YOU NEED:

MAIN INGREDIENTS:  FRESH Tuna Sashimi cut, ground pepper, salt,

FOR THE TUNA DIP: Kikkoman Soy Sauce, Sesame Oil, Sugar and Wasabi Paste. **Measurements would be according to your liking.

Greens of your choice

Your preferred salad dressings

You may top your salad with Feta Cheese too (optional)

WHAT TO DO:

Step 1:  Generously season the tuna with ground pepper and sprinkle with a little salt.  Let stand for about 15 minutes.

STEP 2:  Sear the tuna on a very hot pan with about 3 tablespoons of cooking oil (canola or olive oil are a healthy choice).  With this particular cut, searing should take 1 minute ONLY for each side (top and bottom).

STEP 3:  Cut the tuna in bite pieces and serve with veggie salad (with a dressing of your choice).

TUNA DIP:  Combine Kikkoman soy sauce, sesame oil, sugar and wasabi paste together in a bowl.

Believe me, this recipe is sooo easy it only takes about 30 minutes to make.  If I can do it, you can definitely do it too! :)  Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vi Da
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 06:57:27

    Ahahaha Naks naman, cooking lesson, hurray!!! So when do u have time for for “celebriTEA” I can bring Don Jose Cuervo, just cut come lemon wedges and salt to deep shooters🙂

    Reply

  2. Vi Da
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 06:59:14

    Ooopps sorry I mean to dip shooters hahaha.

    Reply

    • Amory
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 12:37:38

      I know, right?! Me, sharing a recipe hahaha!!! MIracles do happen🙂 Thank goodness for easy-peasy recipes like this. Tequila night soon?

      Reply

  3. taniguchi77
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 18:35:07

    Typo error again, I mean cut some lemon wedges, hahaha. Sure tequila night soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

