A BREAK-UP LETTER TO MY BLACKBERRY

My old Blackberry with its perennial white screen... sometimes it's black.

My old Blackberry with its perennial white screen…

Dear Blackberry,

I fell in love with you the moment I laid my eyes on you.  Your perfect keyboard helped this large-thumbed woman create perfectly spelled texts every time.  You and I knew each other so well, I didn’t have to think which punctuations or emoticons to use.  We’ve been through a lot together. We made travel arrangements, sent messages to family and friends, read news (and gossips) from across the globe.

That’s why what I’m about to say is very difficult.

I’m breaking up with you.

I know there’s no easy way to say it but you’re all business and I wanted to cut the chase.  You seem to be powering down a bit… no, a lot, lately.   My daily routine of rebooting you has caused my entire phonebook to go kaput. It was fine, I just had to update all my contacts manually. I’m a very patient woman.  But must you make me do this everyday? I didn’t give up on you but I gave up updating my phonebook and handle the embarrassment of  sending out a “who you?” message.

When you asked me to upgrade my Facebook to version tra.la.la,  I said yes.  But you conked out again and made the whole app disappear.  You know very well that Facebook, together with Twitter and Instagram, are my connections to the “outside world”.  I need them to stalk, uhm, to keep up with everyone.  You didn’t have Instagram but I remained devoted to you.

And because of my fondness on your alarm features, I let you sleep on my bedside so you’d be the first one I would see when I wake up.  Why did you choose to stop working and sleep like a log on the morning that Little Boy had a performance in school?! Had we not made it on time, I wouldn’t have forgiven you.

Out of respect for you, I’m telling you that you’re being replaced by the iPhone.  Dear Hubby gave it as a present to me on Mother’s Day, who says no to that?   I’ve flirted with the iPhone on my mind but you know that  I’m a Blackberry in a world of iPhones.  Please believe me when I say, “It’s not you, it’s ME.”

iPHONE.BB

I’ll terribly miss you even when others made fun of you.  You know I hate those fingerprints on my screen!  This new guy is pretty intimidating, I hope it will be just as patient with me as you were when I was just learning which buttons to press.

I hope we can still be friends.  I’m putting you in a safe box and shall bring with me anywhere a new sim card would be required and we’ll still reconnect.  Thank you for your years of service and dedication, I will always treasure our time together buddy.

Thanks again,
A

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. billy
    May 18, 2013 @ 20:28:32

    nice one amory…🙂.. baka ako rin.. masyadong tampuhin na yun bb. Break-up na… hindi na to nakakatawa.BB.🙂.

    Reply

    • Amory
      May 18, 2013 @ 21:01:47

      Thanks Billy, happy to hear from you!
      New phone has been amazing so far, I’ve been stress-free for a while🙂
      Hope to see you again soon!
      A

      Reply

  2. Ronald Narciza (@inunad)
    May 19, 2013 @ 15:15:07

    Kudos to your blog. My BB 9900 works fine at home but a different story when I use it abroad. How I wish they have a trade-in program in the Phils too just like in the US. If they also do this program it would be a blast to upgrade to the Z10.

    Reply

    • Amory
      May 19, 2013 @ 17:46:21

      Thank you Ronald, glad you like this entry!
      Yes, I would have traded mine in for the Z10 too. Heard it’s got Instagram now hehe🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

